Blog Fog ~ The New Writer’s Block

September 8, 2009 at 1:42 am 7 comments

I will totally come clean and  divulge that having my very own blog is scary. At first the idea seemed dreamy, poetic and even romantic.  Topics raced through my head, my imagination jumping for literary joy and my wheels of creative genius spinning out of control.  But as I sat down to begin this first ever personal blog, the fog rolled in.  Some may refer to it as writer’s block. I will affectionately call it blog fog.

It’s as if a huge  cloud of fog  moved inside my head,  preventing me from using my  natural ability to create and tell stories.  I told myself  “breathe, Jayne, breathe.  It’s  stage fright and first night jitters.” I asked myself, “what if my blog isn’t worthy? What if I don’t strike a chord with the reader? What if the what ifs  keep piling up? ” And then I realized that even in the thickest  fog I can depend on my insight to see and my foresight to write.

Then suddenly the fog lifted. And I found myself  writing my introductory blog.  So why the blog? Writing is what I do. Warming hearts is who I am. As a passionate mother faced with the common “juggle struggle” of family, career, community and self, I want to impart life lessons  and exchange insightful experiences that can nurture one another along the way.  While the road to success is always under construction,  I look upon this blog as a visceral compass intended to give its readers direction!  Especially when the fog rolls in.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Fruits of Her Labor

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gregory Kemp  |  September 8, 2009 at 5:58 am

    Great blog, Jayne! Looks like you are very busy with readings and signings, not to mention all that’s coming up in your “Just Around the Corner” page. Fantastic! Best of luck to you and Marley!

    Greg

    Reply
    • 2. jaynebonilla  |  September 8, 2009 at 11:05 am

      Thank you Greg! A wonderful comment from the Author of The Legend of Vinny Whiskers is a great way to start my day!
      Happy Writing and Happy Trails to you!

      Jayne

      Reply
  • 3. Dale  |  September 8, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I never doubted that you would find a way to unfog your blog! You never cease to amaze me and I am always your biggest fan. Just keep sharing yourself with the world. The world needs you and the wonderful light you bring to it each and every day. So proud of you.

    Reply
    • 4. jaynebonilla  |  September 24, 2009 at 5:18 pm

      You would do anything to be President of my fan club~ even if it means starting one! Any other members yet? 🙂 Thank you for your constant inspiration and belief in me! I am proud of you! ❤

      Reply
  • 5. Ed Bennett  |  September 24, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Jayne,

    You never fail to amaze. We, your dear friends and family, are so proud of you. You inspire us in so many ways. Keep blogging, keep writing, keep creating. Your gift is obvious and should be shared with others. Love the work and the message each story tells. This is just the beginning of an amazing journey shared my a truly amazing person.

    Reply
    • 6. jaynebonilla  |  September 24, 2009 at 5:13 pm

      My warmest thanks Eddie for your ongoing support and vote of confidence. I too appreciate all you do as you bravely “write” your story on a daily basis! We are so lucky to have found our niche! My hopes are to continue to inspire and empower. 🙂 Jayne

      Reply
  • 7. parrillaturi  |  June 27, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    Hi Jayne, Great tribute to mom well loved, and admired. Good read. We need more tributes of this nature. Blessings..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

"It is better to improve than it is to prove"
- Jayne Bonilla

Since the road to success is always under construction, this blog is intended to serve as a visceral compass empowering readers/writers to find their own direction along the way.

Follow Me on Twitter!

Archives


