Heat Rises

June 21, 2013 at 11:04 am 2 comments

I cannot lie. I wanted The Miami Heat to capture The NBA Title in an inexplicable way. Watching from the comfort of our home, simultaneously texting our kids who watched in Orlando, San Francisco and Manhattan, sharing our enthusiasm. Draped in Heat gear, I personally carried around my Lebron James larger-than-life head on a stick. My husband and I had our ritual high fives in sync. He even began high fiving my Lebron head during the last quarter. Cheering incessantly, dancing around our family room and eating chips and dip, when the fans stood, I stood. Toward the last 5 minutes of the game I had so much rip-roaring nervous energy, I could do nothing but stand. I was standing up for our guys. I stood for Coach Erik Spoelstra, Pat Riley, the fans, the city of Miami, and the tireless effort of a league that left an impact on me beyond my expectations.

Why was I feeling so emotional about a game with an orange ball, a basket, and a court? What drew me to this sport of ups and downs, highs and lows, wins and losses, dunks and misses? Then it dawned on me. Basketball is a metaphor for life. Though we all get knocked down, it’s in the rising back to our feet that defines us. At the end of the day, these professional ball handlers go home to their families and lives and become the best version of themselves. Each one of them rises to the occasion as fathers, husbands, sons, and philanthropic members of our society. Let me paraphrase what Dwayne Wade so eloquently stated during a press conference following the Game 7 win: “true pressure for me is taking care of my family, providing for their needs and making a positive impact on their lives.” He considers playing professional basketball a career dream and a privilege. On and off the court, these men are true professionals with integrity, grit and passion. They each show respect for their community and each other in significant ways.

As the clocks runs down, my tears well up. I’m surprisingly moved by this movement called sportsmanship. For Coach Pop, Tim Duncan and the Spurs, I feel their disappointment as well. But as the buzzer sounds, declaring our Miami Heat the 2013 Champions, the camaraderie amongst both the Heat and the Spurs is genuine and supportive. Embracing one another, showing empathy on many levels, both teams can hold their heads high as this intense, one-of-a-kind season draws to a close.  And that my friends, says it all. Because for each of these hard-working, dedicated basketball pro’s,  when it comes to living outstanding and purposeful lives, the ball is in their court!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

JOGGING My Memory Life Is But A Stage

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dale Eisenshtat  |  June 22, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Beautifully written with passion. Your ball is back in your court!

    Reply
  • 2. Craig  |  July 2, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    So much fun to read – I felt like I was in the family room with you too! So true in regards to the comparison to real life – how we handle the pressure of that last shot or the more tedious pressure of the other team’s 10-0 run is what truly defines us!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

"It is better to improve than it is to prove"
- Jayne Bonilla

Since the road to success is always under construction, this blog is intended to serve as a visceral compass empowering readers/writers to find their own direction along the way.

Follow Me on Twitter!

Archives


