Life Is But A Stage

June 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm 3 comments

Life Is But A Stage

Whether we are 1 or 101, we all have one thing in common~ Time is of the essence. We should learn from our past and have high hopes for the future. Since now is all we truly have, let’s make it count and celebrate its preciousness!

The next few posts will be regarding milestones in our lives. Fleeting moments that make grand deposits into our “memory bank!” They always earn interest because they leave an imprint on our hearts. This first post reminds us to “always ask.”

I asked an old woman, “how was your day?”
“Don’t ask” was all she replied.
She meant what she said,
didn’t say what she meant.
Her sadness could not be denied.
I could leave her alone, respecting her wishes,
but knew that alone she’d remain.
So I urged her “please tell me, how was your day?”
“Don’t ask and then I won’t complain.”
“About all of my aches and all of my pains,
about sleepless nights that repeat.
About being too hot or being too cold,
sore knees and slow-moving feet.
About memories that come and memories that vanish, remembering makes my brain burn.
Dreading when my children’s’ visits are over;
living for them to return.
Missing my husband, my partner in life,
after sixty-five wonderful years.
Having to face things without him by my side,
holding back sadness and tears.
Claiming self-reliance, fearing to burden.
Hoping to truly succeed.
Afraid of the future, relishing the past,
being needed but not have to need.
In this sequence of life called the Golden Years ~
our age somehow seems so defining.
Maybe instead of thinking in ‘gold,’
I should look for the ‘silver’ lining.”
I listened completely with empathy.
For “don’t ask,” clearly meant that I ask.
For even if I couldn’t cure any ailments,
I believe that I did a great task.
“Any grandkids?” I asked with a smile.
She stood tall like a proud mother hen.
She took out her wallet and shared with me
photos of her cherished ten!
Introducing each one by name.
Her old age now masked by youth.
Prideful and grateful for her legacy,
discovering her moment of truth.
“Today is a good day,” the woman announced.
“If you ask I will tell you this straight.”
She meant what she said and said what she meant.
As for me, “my day is now great!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Heat Rises Life Is But A Stage

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jaynebonilla  |  June 28, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Reblogged this on Jayne Bonilla's Blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Leonor  |  June 28, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Awesome. So True. Reminds me of my mom.

    Reply
  • 3. Patti Manders  |  June 28, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    Love this, Jayne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

"It is better to improve than it is to prove"
- Jayne Bonilla

Since the road to success is always under construction, this blog is intended to serve as a visceral compass empowering readers/writers to find their own direction along the way.

Follow Me on Twitter!

Archives


