Black Thursday ~ Drawing the Line or Standing in Line?

November 20, 2013 at 12:54 pm 2 comments

Call me old-fashioned, but fashion, shopping, malls, and parking lots are the last thing on my mind on my favorite holiday of the year…Thanksgiving!  And while filling our bellies is what’s on our minds, having our hearts filled is paramount. Thanksgiving is synonymous with family. Having our children return home, sleeping under one roof, being stuck together like glue…it doesn’t get any better than that! For this I am so thankful!

Personally, I’ve never been a “Black Friday” kind of shopper. Instead I prefer remaining home with my children and hubby, lounging in our pajamas for most of the day, grazing on leftovers, watching movies and just being together. But turning back the clocks on Black Friday to commence on Thanksgiving Day? To those retail stores (and you know who you are) “have you no shame?” At what cost are you willing to increase your earnings?  At the cost of your employees? Their families?

Well in the spirit of this holiday, I am thankful to my employer, Jerry Kohl, Founder and President of Brighton Collectibles http://www.brighton.com. Jerry Kohl insists that his employees remain home with their families on Thanksgiving Day even though neighboring stores have complied with mall hours and are choosing to open their doors. This my friends, is why I love my company. While their wonderful products stand on their own merit, Brighton stands for so much more. It is a company with heart that gives back to our communities year round, values it clients and values family. Very much like Thanksgiving itself!

I believe that the concept of shopping on Thanksgiving Day is trading in true values for a “bargain value.” It’s buying presents instead of being present?  When does standing in line become more important than “drawing the line?” The only traffic jam you’ll find me in is the one when we are all gathered in the kitchen.  And you can be sure that the only spending I’ll be doing is spending time with my loved ones. I wish a happy and healthy Thanksgiving to all!

Black Friday

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HOME ALONE! Adele’s New Life ~ Who Knew?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dale Eisenshtat  |  November 20, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Love when you take time and slow things down to write your blog. Miss it (and you)!

    Reply
  • 2. Leonor  |  November 28, 2013 at 12:25 am

    Love it Ditto! Happy Thanksgiving

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

"It is better to improve than it is to prove"
- Jayne Bonilla

Since the road to success is always under construction, this blog is intended to serve as a visceral compass empowering readers/writers to find their own direction along the way.

Follow Me on Twitter!

Archives


