Adele’s New Life ~ Who Knew?

April 17, 2014 at 1:45 pm 3 comments

Adele's New Life ~ Who Knew?

This month as we welcomed in spring, I learned firsthand the true meaning of spring-cleaning. You see, my mom, who simultaneously serves as my best friend, announced that she wanted to move to an Independent Living Center. Now nobody is more independent than our 85-year-young mother of four and grandmother of ten! But to say we were shocked, could go down as the understatement of the year.

I honestly felt a huge knot in my stomach. My children, (independent adults themselves) were especially against the entire idea. Call it selfish, but none of us were ready for this change. I was completely  prepared to argue that her 23 year wonderful stay in Apartment 2308 overlooking the beautiful view from her 23rd floor apartment, surrounded by terrific friends was reason enough not to move. And how about the fact that my mom was engaging in a diverse and busy social life that was healthy and fulfilling. Wasn’t that  reason enough to stay put?

My siblings knew better than to argue with a pure Leo, who while roaringly funny and open-minded, is also ferociously decisive. “I’m ready to retire from cooking, cleaning and getting stuck in traffic,” announced Adele, who retired from Macy’s at age 80. “It’s time to start a new chapter. and there is no time like the present!” After my older sister (everyone is older in my family since I am the baby) searched high and low for the perfect digs, she discovered a place smack in the middle of each of us. In fact, that was my moms only request! Our mom, affectionately known as Ma, Grammy and Adele, seemed ready for her new life: Adele’s New Life ~ Who Knew?

Call it sentimental, call it “not great with change,” call it clinging to memories of my children spending hours upon hours, years upon years of having sleep-overs and adventures while growing up in the endless love and overflowing joy of their Ma and Poppy’s embrace! I know, I know, I know, people make a home, not walls. I also understand that love fills a home, not space. Yet spring-cleaning in preparation for the big move, meant rediscovering zillions of photos packed in drawers and piled in boxes under beds. My mom, sister, and I laughed uncontrollably. Then we cried uncontrollably. Laughter ensued. Tears overflowed. Repeat. Talk about an emotional roller coaster. This ride was like none Walt Disney himself could have invented.

While my husband and I, along with our three children, are the most fortunate to have shared this meaningful history with my parents and our children’s grandparents, Apartment 2308 will always be an incredible part of our history. I knew that these last few days of packing it up were mostly about packing it in! I’ll always treasure the days we spent together hovering over old photos and keepsakes such as our celebrated Daddy’s Priceless Poem Vault, our Grand Mom Rose’s Chinese Chest and original china, and our Poppy’s Chair. Our children’s poetry, drawings and photo’s, displayed gallery style, were a sight for sore eyes and a reason for our hearts to skip a beat. Like a time capsule, we had been blasted back to our past.

When the movers arrived, we were forced to shift gears and head back to Adele’s future. Easier said than done, I assure you. As the moving truck closed its doors, pulled away and headed slightly north, we took one more look before closing the door to Apartment 2308. We sighed with anticipation as my mom took a deep breath and mustered up a hearty “out with the old, in with the new!”

Stay tuned for more adventures of Adele’s New Life ~ Who Knew?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Black Thursday ~ Drawing the Line or Standing in Line? It’s In The Cards

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gail Biers  |  April 19, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    Jayne, I loved your story about Adele! I look forward to future updates on how she is doing. It was such a pleasure working with your family to help her move on to the “New Adventures of Adele!”
    Gail

    Reply
  • 2. Ed Bennett  |  April 22, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    I am so happy that I finally took the time to click on and open your post on FB. I have always enjoyed reading your children’s stories and now to discover a blog about your mother. How funny. You have such an amazing gift. The ability to connect at such a profound level no matter the topic or content. Folks, I have know Jayne forever and her friends and I knew she was very special and very gifted from early on. Adele’s New Life will resonate with you as it did with me. It’s so simple yet powerful, just like all of her previous stories. I encourage you to get to know Jayne and be ready for an inspirational journey only she can tell. I love all of you and look forward to more of you. Ed.

    Reply
    • 3. jaynebonilla  |  April 22, 2014 at 9:07 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. You warm my heart, Eddie! Writing brings me joy! I am so happy that reading my blog brings a smile to your face as well! Thank you for your encouragement and appreciation! There’s plenty more to come:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

"It is better to improve than it is to prove"
- Jayne Bonilla

Since the road to success is always under construction, this blog is intended to serve as a visceral compass empowering readers/writers to find their own direction along the way.

Follow Me on Twitter!

Archives


